Nigeria Six geopolitical zones and Their States

Nigeria Six Geopolitical zones, their states and how you can identify them are outlined in this post. Those that don’t know what geopolitical zones mean and which one they belong to should endeavor to read through.

  Nigeria Six Geopolitical zones and Their States:

North Central Zone: mainly termed the Middle Belt; includes Benue State, Plateau State, Nasarawa State, Niger State, Kogi State, Kwara State, and  Federal Capital Territory

North East Zone:  Adamawa State, Borno State, Bauchi State, Taraba State, Gombe State, and Yobe State

North West Zone:  This consists of Jigawa State, Katsina State, Kaduna State, Kano State, Sokoto State, Kebbi State, and Zamfara State

South East Zone: Termed former East-Central State of Abia State, Anambra State, Ebonyi State, Enugu State, and Imo State

South-South Zone: mainly termed the former South-Eastern State of Akwa-Ibom State and Cross-River State; former Rivers State of Bayelsa State and Rivers State; and former Mid-Western Region, Nigeria of Delta State and Edo State

South West Zone: consists of Ekiti State, Lagos State, Ogun State, Ondo State, Osun State, and Oyo State

How They Were Carved Out:

These six Nigeria geopolitical zones and Their States were not mapped out by their geopolitical location. Instead, they are states with similar ethnic groups, cultures, and shared history organized in the same zone.

Nigeria is made up of approximately 400 ethnic groups and 450 languages, hence the need for the government to merge similar groups for efficient allocation of resources.

Also Read:

Nigerian Immigration Passport Renewal Application Cost Renewal

Nigeria Customs Service Recruitment 2021 | How to Apply Now